Transfer of registration responsibility for Cork and Limerick

Please note the following information was gathered on the and is direct and clear information issued by the department of justice on June 17th 2024.

The transfer of responsibility for first time registration and renewal of Irish immigration residence permissions for persons residing in counties Cork and Limerick from the Garda National Immigration Bureau (GNIB) to Immigration Service Delivery (ISD) of the Department of Justice will come into effect on 8] July 2024.

On 8 July 2024, the first time registration of Irish residence permissions for applicants residing in counties Cork and Limerick will now be carried out at the Registration Office, 13-14 Burgh Quay, Dublin 2. This will be in addition to the current registrations for counties Dublin, Kildare, Meath, and Wicklow.

First-time Registration of Irish immigration permission

Appointments for first time registration can be booked using the Freephone number (1800 800 630).

Operators are available between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday-Friday to arrange appointments.

Applicants for registration will be required to provide the operators with their passport details and a valid email address to arrange appointments.

Please Note, on the day of your appointment for first time registration at the Registration Office in Burgh Quay, you must bring:

  • Your passport (or other equivalent document, issued by or on behalf of an authority recognised by the Government [of Ireland]),
  • A printed and completed copy of the address form attached to your appointment confirmation email (this is the address your Irish residence permission (IRP card) will be sent on issue to you),
  • Printed copies of the required supporting documentation relevant to your permission, electronic copies of documents are not accepted.

If you do not have all required documents with you at your appointment, we will be unable to complete your registration and issue an Irish Residence Permit card. You will be required to book a return appointment to the Registration Office to complete your registration.

On the day of your appointment, you will be required to pay a fee of €300 depending on the type of permission you are seeking. Certain exemptions from payment of the fee are listed below. Please see the list of fees for different types of permissions.

Please note: We only accept credit/debit card payments. We are unable to accept cash, cheques, or contactless payments.

Renewal of Irish immigration permission

Also with effect from 8 July 2024, online renewals of permissions from applicants living in counties Cork and Limerick should be submitted using the Immigration Service Delivery (ISD) online renewal portal. Applicants will not need to attend the Burgh Quay Registration Office in person to renew permission.

The GNIB will continue to undertake first registrations and renewal responsibilities for applicants residing outside of counties Dublin, Meath, Kildare, Wicklow, Cork and Limerick.

Please note that all applications, State-wide, for renewal of residence permission, including when changing Stamp category, are accepted by both ISD and GNIB up to 12 weeks prior to expiry to allow sufficient time for processing.

ISD Online Processing Times

The Immigration Service website provides a live processing update for online renewal applications being processed. To ensure an equitable immigration system, applications are processed in the order in which they are received.

Guide to engaging with ISD services

Please read the step-by-step user guide on engaging with ISD services for further information.

Exemption from registration and renewal fees

Certain applicants for first registration and renewal of residence permission are exempted from payment of the €300 registration fee if they:

  • Have refugee status.
  • Have subsidiary protection status.
  • Have leave to remain under Section 49 of the International Protection Act 2015.
  • Are aged between 16 and 18 years of age.
  • Are resident based on marriage to an Irish citizen.
  • Are a family member of an EU citizen.
  • Are Ukranian citizens and certain foreign nationals’ resident in the State as a Beneficiary of Temporary Protection.